Standard

I’m sure as most of you know I’ve been dating this guy name John for the past few months and a lot of questions came up when I said “hey I’m dating this guy.” So I thought I’d just answer some questions and then rant a little about something.

John and I met when he was on visiting his dad on leave before getting stationed in Hawaii. When we met I had no clue in a month I’d be flying to Hawaii to see him but I’m so glad I was able to. As most of you know not too long again I got out of that horrible relationship with whats his butt and being in another relationship wasn’t number one on my priorities list. But people come into your life when you least expect it and I’m so glad John is in my life now. He’s a complete 180 from whats his butt and I honestly couldn’t be happier. He brings out the best in me and treats me how a woman should be treated even if he is 2,722 miles away. He’s definitely the best and who else would walk around the Army base with me singing “Love is an Open Door?”

A bit about John: He’s originally from Texas and has been in the army since he was 18. He’s been stationed in California, Texas and now Hawaii. He’s 24 and our birthdays are 2 days apart which makes me oddly happy. In the army he’s an Arabic linguist so yes he does speak Arabic. I wish I could say I’ve heard it but I haven’t… yet. He’s huge Dallas Cowboys fan and apparently since we’re dating I have to be one too…ew gag me.

A few things that I’ve learned over the course of dating him is that: 1) distance really really sucks 2) dating someone in the military is HARD 3) having support is honestly the best thing in the world.
Distance is hard on anyone. Not being able to hug John whenever is one of the worst things ever especially when I’m sad and all I want is a John hug. Distance makes the heart grow fonder and it really does. When I do get to see John (which will hopefully be in December!!)) I know I’ll treasure the moments with him because time goes by SOOOOO fast.
Dating/Being married to someone in the military is probably one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to go through. There’s the constant fear of him being deployed, the field training every month, not being able to talk to him all the time etc. Every military girlfriend/wife is in a different situation and each one is tough for them. If you say one has harder than another that’s bull crap.
Having support is one of the things that has gotten me through the past couple months because there’s times when I say “what the heck am I doing??” but having support from friends and family has been so helpful.

Hopefully this has answered all questions you had about John. 🙂 If you have any other questions don’t hesitate to ask.

Leave a Reply

