Be Kind

Standard

Something that’s been on my mind lately is cyberbullying. In the world we live in today social media is something almost everyone has. It can be used for good like updating family who don’t live near you, sharing something you learned in church, share pictures etc but it can also be used for bad like cyberbullying. Cyberbullying has been going on since social media got popular and it has grown a lot with how popular facebook, twitter etc have gotten. For me cyberbullying isn’t something I take lightly, since I was cyberbullied at one point in my life.

Being told that I’m the reason why my mom drinks and I’m the ugly fat friend wasn’t my prime moment of my senior year. A few years ago, I had a twitter account that was dedicated to me being Mormon. It was an account I could tweet about something that I learned in church or something I read in my scriptures and not have people judge me. I loved it so much. There’s thousands upon thousands of LDS teens in this little twitter community and it’s awesome. Another popular app that I used along with twitter was Ask.Fm, it’s basically an app that people can anonymously ask you questions. One night this person was saying all these cruel things to be and disgusting sexual things about my friends. I don’t think I’ve cried harder in my life. How could someone that could possibly be LDS say such rude things about me? I’m really thankful for amazing friends because they all stuck up for me. I’m also thankful that I didn’t let it get to me and didn’t last for more than 24 hours.

One of the points I’m attempting but failing to make is that you never know what’s going on in somebodies life and what you say whether it be to their face or through the computer screen could really affect them. I once saw someone say “cyberbullying isn’t even a thing, just log off the computer.” Yes, you can log off but honestly what the people said still float around in your head. Sometimes what that person said to me come to mind and it still hurts. One of the things I try really hard at is being nice to everyone. It kind of amazes that people hide behind their computer screens and bring people down for fun.

I just think that everyone should think twice before saying something mean about someone. What you say can change their day in some many ways. Cyberbullying is something I hope and pray dies out. No one should be afraid to post a picture on facebook or tweet something and then have someone call them ugly and fat or stupid. Be kind to everyone you meet, a smile can go a long way for someone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

