Standard

I guess since I’m a blogger it’s my “obligation” to talk about Robin Williams and my opinion on the whole thing.

As I was scrolling through twitter and facebook the days after his passing I saw a couple of different posts. Some were shocked that such a happy and funny man like Robin Williams would kill himself. Some said that it’s sad that he passed but people committed suicide everyday why is a celebrity getting all the attention. And others were saying this is a learning experience for everyone. I weirdly agree with all three of these posts. Its a huge learning experience for us all. Even the happiest people have some hidden struggles.

I think it was October 2013 Elder Holland gave a talk about depression. Non-member or member you should definitely read it. (I’ll put a link at the end of this) Elder Holland quoted President Monson and said “That love never changes. … It is there for you when you are sad or happy, discouraged or hopeful. God’s love is there for you whether or not you feel you deserve [it]. It is simply always there.” Oh how I love that. I know some people don’t have a religion or believe in God but He loves you no matter what and that’s what gets me through the day.

Depression is not something to take lightly. Hundreds of people deal with depression all over the world and some people feel that the only way to get through it is to end their life. I think the more that people are educated on it the better we can all learn how to deal with it for lack of better terms.

So I guess I have some words of advice for everyone…
1) be nice to everyone. You never know what happens behind closed doors. A smile can hide a lot of pain and suffering. I know for me I can hide my sadness with a smile and people think I’m fine.
2) Know that your Savior Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father love you so much. It’s so sad to me that some people don’t know or don’t care about the love their Heavenly Father has for them.
3) Know that you’re never alone. If you are depressed know that you have people who love you so much. Friends, family, church members, etc. I might not be the best advice giver but I have a dang good ear that’s always open if you need someone to talk to.

I hope that this blog post makes sense… I just needed to say something I guess.

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2013/10/like-a-broken-vessel?lang=eng

Leave a Reply

