Aside

I have about 40 pet peeves. I can’t stand when people breathe too loud, chew with their mouths open, don’t use their blinker, interrupt me while I’m speaking, the list goes on. But my number one pet peeve in the entire world is when people give crap about someones religion. I hate hate hate hate hate that. This happened to me in class and I just wanted to scream. I was talking about how I’m having two weddings when I get married: one in the temple and a civil wedding type thing. This guy goes “how does that work?” I go “Well I’m LDS and we have weddings in temples. Since I’m the only member in my family they can’t go to the temple wedding because they aren’t members” He interrupts me and says “that’s why I think that religion is bullcrap (except he didn’t say that) Your own parents can’t go to your wedding” I tried to explain to him that the temple is a house of The Lord and in the temple we make very sacred covenants but he interrupted me again and said that it was stupid. I’m not the type of person that gets into heated arguments but when people say something bad about my religion I get mad. Unfortunately for me class was beginning and I didn’t have a chance to stand up for what I believe. 

It’s just super annoying to me that even though we live in a place where we have the freedom to worship however we want people STILL get crap for it. It’s not just people from The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints that get hated. It’s every religion. I’m just sitting here like WHAT THE HECK PEOPLE. People should be able to worship however they want and not have to feel like they’re getting judged every time they open their scriptures or post something about what they believe on social media or get crap when they’re talking about it public. For me that’s why it’s hard for me to talk about church in public or anything because I’m afraid I’ll get attacked by someone and start crying. People shouldn’t have to be afraid to talk about what they believe in public but sadly that’s kinda how it is nowadays. 

Maybe one of these days I’ll have the guts to stand up for what I believe and maybe I’ll make a difference in someones life. I don’t know. I’m gonna end with this: don’t ever give someone crap or diss someone because they believe in stuff different than you. It really hurts to hear. We all have the right to believe in what we want and saying what they believe is stupid is just rude. Let’s all be a little bit more kind to people and respect them. 

Leave a Reply

