My Testimony

Standard

It’s not a walk in the park being the only member in your family, you’re put to the test daily. For me, I feel tempted more by Satan daily because I’m exposed to so many bad things. Whether it be cussing, coffee, bad tv shows etc. I just have to remember to be strong and not give into those things. Sometimes I slip up and say a bad word and I feel terrible after it, but everyone makes mistakes. Over the time of me being a member I’ve grown so much in my love for church, reading the scriptures, and praying.

I used to hate going to church when I was younger. It was so boring to me and it was only an hour! I used to hide in my closet and pretend to be sick just so I wouldn’t have to go. As I grew up and began going to church again my love for it blossomed. Sunday’s are now my favorite days of the week because I get to get away from my home life and be around people with the same morals and standards as me for 3 hours. It kinda of scared me at first that church was 3 hours long. I always thought I would go crazy having to deal with 3 hours but it goes by so fast and sometimes I wish it was 4 hours long.

I’m gonna be honest with you, when I first began taking discussions and a few months after I was baptized I would read my scriptures maybe 3 times every 2 weeks. Yeah, it was bad. I just don’t like reading. Then the whole thing with my mom happened and people always told me to “look through the scriptures when you’re sad” or something like that. Don’t quote me on that, but that’s exactly what I did. I went to my scriptures and it felt good. Something clicked in me and I just couldn’t stop reading them. They filled my heart with joy. I kind of fell off the scripture train again, but don’t fret! I’m back on it again and hopefully there to stay.

Praying has always been a comforting thing to me. Even when I didn’t go to church, I’d pray. I always knew that if I didn’t have someone to talk to God was always there for me. A while back, I bore my testimony on praying for my mom. I prayed that her heart would be softened and she would stop drinking. That worked… for a while. I know that just me praying won’t make her stop her habit or make her accept me for being Mormon, but just doing that simple act of praying made me feel a whole lot better. Praying comforts me in my times of need. Whenever I want to drink coffee, I pray that I will have the strength to say no. I pray in some of the weirdest places, the shower, the car, in class. It is comforting to know that in my times of need, I can always pray and I’ll feel the spirit.

I don’t really think this was a testimony but more of my “feelings” towards those things. I don’t know. I’ll end it with this:

I KNOW this is the true church. I KNOW Joesph Smith restored this Gospel and was the first prophet of this wonderful church. Everyday that passes I’m more and more grateful for my friends and the missionaries that taught me. Without them, I wouldn’t have found the Gospel. I KNOW that Thomas S. Monson is our prophet today and he has revelations from God. I love this church and I’m so blessed to be a member of it. I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

 

4 thoughts on “My Testimony

  1. Anon.

    Thank you so much for sharing. We are not the only ones who are blessed when we share our testimonies and I feel like tonight this one was shared for me. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

